Out Of Bounds Post Interfering With My Golf Swing? What To Do

My golf ball is lying just in bounds very close to an out of bounds post. The post interfers with my back swing.  Do I get a free drop in this case?  Good question and thanks for sending it in.  Let’s take a look at what the Rules of Golf say on this one.

First, the Rules of Golf say that a golfer may take relief, without penalty, from a movable obstruction.  And many out of bounds posts or stakes are movable. But unfortunately if you look at the definition of an obstruction, it’s not great news.  An obstuction is defined like this: 

An “obstruction” is anything artificial, including the artificial surfaces and sides of roads and paths and manufactured ice, except:




a. Objects defining out of bounds , such as walls, fences, stakes and railings;

Now I’ve looked pretty hard through th rules and I don’t see anywhere that contadicts this section so I have  to say that, from what I can see, you get no relief and have to play the ball as it lies.

Now many of you golfers out there may be saying, “Wow this is a basic rule, everyone should have alrady known this. “   And I don’t necessarily disagree with that.  But I welcome this question because I find more and more golfers don’t know the rules, even some of the basiic ones. 

So thank you for this question and I encourage all golfers to know the rules better. 

Know the game and enjoy the game.




There Is 1 Response So Far. »

  1. I assumed that an OB stake would be a man made object and afforded relief. Now I know. Thanks.

    http://lefthandedgolf.us

Leave a Comment

*