A rules question for you Golf Nut. I was playing recently and my partner’s golf ball was embedded in a soft part of the fairway. It was really plugged and made a shot really difficult. Can he get relief in this situation?Well the rules are pretty straightforward on this one. But there can be a complication of sorts. But to the basics first. Rule 25-2 says that a golf ball embedded in its own pitch mark may be lifted, cleaned, and dropped without penalty.
The complication comes in when your golf ball is not in its own pitch mark. In that case, then Rule 13 kicks in, which is play the ball as it lies. Many golfers I see play winter rules especially when it comes to divots and pitch marks from previous shots. They roll the ball to a better lie and think nothing about it. But the bottom line is, if your ball is not in its own pitch mark, you have to play it.
So the question is do you know that your partner’s ball was in its own or another pitch mark. That’s the complication part. My experience is that you can usually see or tell which is the case. But that is really the determining factor in whether relief is allowed or not.
Thanks for the question, and thanks to all you golf nuts for the rules questions. I am glad to see more and more golfers wanting to understand the rules of golf!