Other Recent Articles

post thumbnail

Once Again, Is The Fed Ex Cup Working For The Game Of Golf And Golf Fans?

Well, Vijay SIngh wrapped up the Fed Ex Cup recently in what a lot of golf fans and writers called a lot of “ho hum”. And what was interesting was Vijay didn’t seem to want to talk about it. And interestingly the golfer who put Vijay into the “winners circle” with his victory at Bellerive, Camilo Villegas, didn’t want to either. When asked about the results, he responded “We don’t want to talk about the Fed Ex Cup, do we?” So is it working?

(more…)

September 20th, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Playing With The Wrong Golf Ball

Golf Nut, I was playing a round of golf with my regular foursome last week when we hit a situation that we didn’t know how the golf rules handle. About halfway through the round, one of our group realized that he was playing the wrong golf ball. It was the exact same brand that he uses, but he normally puts a mark on his ball and the ball he putted with didn’t have that mark on it. He didn’t know when he played the incorrect ball. Is he penalized for this?

(more…)

September 13th, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Problems When You Are Between Golf Clubs

Dear Golf Nut, I hit my irons fairly well but have difficulty sometimes when I am between clubs. It really affects me on the longer irons from the 6 iron on up. Any suggestions?

(more…)

September 8th, 2008 | | 1 comment | Continued
post thumbnail

Will These Changes On US Ryder Cup Golf Team Help?

US Ryder Cup captain Paul Azinger is definitely shaking things up for this year’s team golf competition against Europe. He not only successfully lobbied for a change in the selection process, but went against the grain in his Captain’s picks. It would be hard to argue with his logic that we needed to change. The US has lost 5 of the last 6 Ryder Cups to the golfers from Europe. Will his strategy work?

(more…)

September 4th, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

You’ve Got To Be Kidding Me….Make The Golf Hole Bigger?

I saw an article recently about widening the golf hole. The concept, if I understood it correctly is that it would speed up play. I know a lot of us golfers absolutely hate having to wait on the fairway when it seems to take forever to play a round of golf. But I really don’t think that this is the answer.

(more…)

August 27th, 2008 | | 1 comment | Continued
post thumbnail

Always leaving my putts short

Golf Nut, I seem to always leave my putts short. The old saying “Never up, never in” really seems to apply. Do you have any ideas to help me with distance and, in particular, getting the golf ball to the hole consistently?

(more…)

August 24th, 2008 | | 3 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Where Is Golf’s Big Easy?

Ernie Els, Where Are You Now? For some reason it just hit me the other day. Ernie, a golfer that I have always liked and respected, seems to have gone from The Big Easy to The BIg Quiet. I just haven’t seen or heard much about him recently. So I started checking to see if I could find out what was going on.

(more…)

August 11th, 2008 | | 1 comment | Continued
post thumbnail

Running Naked Across The Golf Green?

It’s a weird title for a golf tip isn’t it? But you can relax, I’m not going to suggest that you actually do this. But it goes to something that we all struggle with at times….The mental side of golf. The title actually came from a recent article that I read in GolfWorld, so let me explain.

(more…)

July 30th, 2008 | | 1 comment | Continued
post thumbnail

Is Using A Golf Club This Way Legal?

Dear Golf Nut, I play in a men’s league and one golfer I play with always lays a club down on the tee box and uses it to line up toward the tee before he actually hits the golf ball with his driver. After teeing off he picks up the club and puts it back in his bag. Is this legal? Thanks for all the golf help.

(more…)

July 29th, 2008 | | 2 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Golf Shot Ends Up Right Next To Cart Path

Dear Golf Nut, if my golf ball ends up one inch from the cart path, am I allowed relief? In this situation, if I took my normal golf swing, my club would hit the concrete path. What am I allowed to do in this case?

(more…)

July 25th, 2008 | | 1 comment | Continued
post thumbnail

The British Open: Golf lessons learned

Boy I really enjoyed watching the British Open. And it wasn’t just because I like Greg Norman. I mean it was great to see him hang in there with the younger golfers and make a real run at winning the tournament. But I got to thinking about how tough the conditions were for the golf tournament and it reminded me of a mental approach that golfers need to keep in mind but that we often forget.

(more…)

July 23rd, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Golf Shot Help: Uneven Lies Part III

Welcome back golf nuts. I am now going to address hitting the golf ball from uneven lies, part 3. This golf tip will look at when the ball is on an uphill lie. A lot of golfers don’t worry about this shot and think that it’s a relatively easy shot. And it can be it you play it the simple way that I will show you. But if you underestimate it, it can cause some problems.

(more…)

July 18th, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Is It Good Or Bad For Golf That Tiger Is Out?

I keep hearing the debate, especially with The Open starting this week, about whether it hurts the game of golf or helps it to have Tiger out for the rest of the golf season. I personally think that it is fundamentally a stupid argument because I definitely am a believer that no one golfer is bigger than the game. But I feel compelled to answer the question. You may or may not agree, but here it goes.

(more…)

July 16th, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

US Open: Did Tiger win the golf tournament or did Rocco lose it?

Certainly this year’s US Open provided quite a show for golf fans, just as Rocco Mediate said right after his heartbreaking loss to Tiger Woods on Monday. But after 91 grueling holes, I’ve seen some debate about whether Tiger stepped up and won this golf tournament or Rocco just let it get away. Which is it? Possibly both and possibly neither. No I am not trying wimp out of this one. Read on golfers to see what I mean.

(more…)

June 17th, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

A Golf Dynasty In The Works?

There is a little college down in South Georgia that may just be a golf dynasty in the making. Or, may in fact already be a dynasty. Darton College just missed winning it’s fourth national title in four years by only three strokes. But looking at their lineup they will probably make it four out of five next year. What a golf team!

(more…)

June 1st, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

A Strange Golf Rules Question

Golf Nut, I have a really strange golf rules question. This really just happened to me and I want to check what the correct thing to do would have been.
I was teeing off on a par three when I hit a real low golf shot. I hit it thin and it was a real “worm burner” as I like to call it. The strange part of this was that another golf ball, coming from the hole next to us, hit my golf ball in mid air. I swear that this really happened and I believe that a hole in one would be easier to do, but on to the rest of my question.
My ball ended up knocked down into the side of a bank next to water in front of the hole and rolled into the water. I took the penalty for a hazard and ended up with a double bogey. Is this the correct ruling?

(more…)

May 29th, 2008 | | 3 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Golf Showdown At The 17th At TPC Sawgrass: The Right Decision?

After playing to a tie at the end of 72 holes of golf during the 35th Players Championship, Sergio Garcia and Paul Goydos started their playoff on the “infamous” 17th island green hole. There apparently was a lot discussion earlier in the week about that hole and pleas to put the emphasis on the rest of the course by a lot within the “inner circle” of the PGA Tour. Was it the right decision to start the playoff on number 17?

(more…)

May 24th, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Part II of Hitting The Golf Ball From Uneven Lies

OK, here is part II in this series on hitting from uneven lies. We started with the shot many call “the hardest shot in golf” last time so for this part of the series we move to a golf shot that is quite a bit easier, when the ball is above your feet on an level lie. Golfers can still mess this one up, but it is relatively easy to make.

(more…)

May 21st, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Is Tiger sending a message to Augusta National Golf Club?

I read recently on Tiger Woods golf site (www.tigerwoods.com) the following quote “The course was very difficult, I didn’t hear as many roars as I usually hear”. He wasn’t making excuses, he talked about why he didn’t win and wasn’t because of the course. But he also said “I hear the club might be making some changes next year to give us a break”. Is Tiger sending a message and will Augusta National respond?

(more…)

May 10th, 2008 | | 3 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Hitting The Golf Ball From Uneven Lies, Part I

Golf Nut, I struggle with hitting from uneven lies. I always seem to catch the golf ball thin or fat. Can you help me with this?

(more…)

May 1st, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

I Don’t Understand The PGA Golf Tour’s New Cut Policy

I just read about the PGA Tour’s new cut policy for professional golf tournaments (at least it appears for all Corporate Logo Events). And I must admit I am confused. I mean were the pro golfers in danger of losing the fan base? Were the networks about to pull all sponsorship money? Or were the pro golfers just whining too much. Read on and you can decide for yourself.

(more…)

April 25th, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Trouble Hitting The Driver

Golf Nut, I am a relatively new golfer. One thing that I struggle with is hitting the driver. When I practice my golf swing and switch from irons to the driver, I will tend to hit behind the golf ball, sometimes as much as 6-10 inches. Any ideas or golf tips?

(more…)

April 23rd, 2008 | | 1 comment | Continued
post thumbnail

How High A Golf Score Can I Take On A Hole?

Golf Nut I was recently playing a round of golf with a foursome. We got to hole #12 a par 5. Three golfers all hit in the water on their 2nd stroke, then 2 of those golfers hit in the water on their fourth stroke. They both pick up their balls and head to the next tee. I ask this question because I am a beginning golfer.
My buddy makes a 9 but the two players that quit the hole said “We both took an 8″ so my buddy tells me that the correct ruling is you can’t hit over an 8 on any hole and shaves a stroke off his score.
I looked on the USGA site and it says any player failing to hole out is disqualified (Sounds a bit harsh for amateur golf, especially very amateur golf). Do you have any idea of the ruling on this? I’m sure the pick up and take an 8 isn’t right, I shoot 10′s and 11′s pretty regular, I could drastically improve my game if that’s the correct ruling. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

(more…)

April 5th, 2008 | | 10 comments | Continued
post thumbnail

Tiger Didn’t Win This Week’s Golf Tournament, but…

So Tiger’s streak has ended. He won’t break Byron Nelson’s record of eleven straight golf victories right now. But what does it mean for the game of golf when you look at Tiger, his success, and where the rest of the field is right now? Like everyone else, I have an opinion and you may not like it, but read on.

(more…)

March 26th, 2008 | | 1 comment | Continued
post thumbnail

Golf Rule Question On Unplayable Golf Ball

Golf Nut, I can think of two circumstances where, after a shot, the golf ball can land farther away from the hole:
1) In the woods, you hit a tree, the ball bounces behind you farther into the woods.
2) Around the green, you catch the ball thin and hit it over the green into the woods/behind a tree.
In these circumstances, can you declare the golf ball unplayable and take the “stroke and distance” penalty? The confusing thing for me is that after taking a stroke, you would actually be dropping closer to the hole in these cases.

(more…)

March 13th, 2008 | | 0 comments | Continued
 Page 5 of 14  « First  ... « 3  4  5  6  7 » ...  Last »